HELLO KITTY OVERLOAD

Alright….

So…. I secretly love Hello Kitty.

Unknown-40

There…

I have admitted it.

Although not a fanatic, at age 25 I do own a few Hello Kitty items.

  1. Sanrio limited edition Hello Kitty handbags
  2. Tokidoki x Hello Kitty handbags
  3. Hello Kitty Kiss Jewellery and a T-shirt, (the best!)
  4. Hello Kitty for Mac lip gloss
  5. Hello Kitty bubblegum perfume spray
  6. A Hello Kitty “I Love You” Doll Craig got for me for Valentine’s Day when we first started going out (so sweet.)
  7. Hello kitty jewellery box
  8. Hello Kitty x Forever 21 Limited Edition Chococat shirt, shorts, Hello Kitty jacket and skirt
  9. Hello Kitty x Samantha Thavasa handbags
  10. Hello Kitty umbrella from TruffleShuffle

Only a few right? (probably not counting a few other items I may have forgotten.)

Since originating from cartoon company Sanrio in 1974, Hello Kitty has ensured that cuteness and normalcy has never been the same. Much of the world has become curiously obsessed with the adorable cat and her myriad of cute friends in the decades since her introduction.

One of my favourite blogs is Hello Kitty Junkie, where a girl has the most vast Hello Kitty collection I have ever seen. Although I’m not quite that into HK, I do love to see what random cute items she posts and her pure dedication to Sanrio and all things kawaii. Definitely a must to check out!

I furthermore, always have a laugh when I check out Hello Kitty Hell, a website that a husband created out of pure disdain for how far Hello Kitty has gone throughout pop culture and the world. Having to deal with a Hello Kitty-obsessed wife, this was his outlet for commentary on ridiculous products made featuring the cat. (Examples – Hello Kitty car engines, Hello Kitty houses, Hello Kitty Sea Cruises and many many more.)

My dream destination is Japan. My brother came bag with a Hello Kitty tote bag for me and told me just how intense the love for the kawaii cat is there, and the 3-storey Hello Kitty stores choc full of random cuteness. One day!

So anyway, to my outfit today – I was feeling quite peppy this morning, (which is slightly unusual for me..) and randomly grabbed a few items like my Cotton On Floral Skater Skirt ($5 AUD,) Vintage Sportsgirl yellow cropped top ($24.95 AUD,) and my Hello Kitty purple handbag ($30 AUD, Ebay.com) to reflect my mood.

IMG_4540

IMG_4542

Sanrio Purple Glitter Hello Kitty Bag, $30 AUD
Ebay.com

 IMG_4538  IMG_4538

I made use of my floral hair clip, bought years ago from the markets for $5 AUD.

IMG_4539

Finishing the outfit are my go-to pink jelly sandals, from Jay Jays for a bargain $5 AUD. (My jelly obsession knows no end.)

IMG_4543

TOTAL OUTFIT COST = $69.95 AUD 

IMG_4544

Here is Barbie, my kitten, clearly not amused with my outfit.

HELLO KITTY CELEBS (EVIDENCE THAT HK IS FOR ALL AGES)

images-47
Paris, lover of Hello Kitty and all things Kawaii. Wish I had her discretionary fundage to blow money on kawaii items.

 

images-50
Okay, so this is an older pic of when RiRi was starting out, but even the tough-sexy girl has donned HK. Too cute!
images-51
HK inspired Brit Brit to “Do Something” in her music vid. No lie, this is a decadent piece of HK jewellery history – with its eyes made of onyx, 9 carat in diamonds and with a price tag of 5.5 million yen. I have a similar necklace, price tag = $20 AUD.
images-58
Lady Gaga on her Hello Kitty throne. I have a T-shirt of this I bought when Gaga first came out. I will wear it for vintage nostalgic cool
images-56
Still gaga over HK
images-53
Katy Perry, lover of all things kitsch including Hello Kitty
images-52
Bethenny Frankel in a Hello Kitty getup… I think for Halloween? Loved Bethenny on Real Housewives of New York City, before we learned of her true character on Bethenny Ever After, etc etc.

DESIGNER HELLO KITTY

heidi-1

Heidi Klum wowing in a black crystal Hello Kitty face dress… I need this

KIMORA-LEE SIMMONS FOR HELLO KITTY

images-64 Unknown-30 kimora_lee_simmons_for_hello_kitty images-66

Kimora-Lee was one of the first celebs to start a Hello Kitty line. Her decadent diamond Hello Kitty creations are lusted after by me, although sadly I would never be able to afford the real deal. (Similar Cubic zirconia or diamonte versions on Ebay are for me instead.)

HELLO KITTY FOR MAC

images-61 images-60 images-59

Cue my excitement when it was announced that my go-to for slightly-expensive, can’t-live-without-makeup line Mac was making a Hello Kitty makeup line! I own an eyeshadow kit, lip gloss, and brush kit from the line. The colours (although pretty much the same with any line from Mac) were great and the lip gloss was amazing.

HELLO KITTY X SWAROVSKI

images-55

images-85 Unknown-44 images-86 images-87Unknown-46

Swarovski = the land of sparkly dreams. Swarovski has long been a lover of Hello Kitty, producing anything cute including crystal figurines (collector’s items and pretty exxy though,) handbags, and most of all jewellery. WANT!

NINA MEW FOR HELLO KITTY

Another kawaii Japanese designer line, Nina Mew’s collections are so cute but unfortunately, way out of my price range.

01

(I do need this Hello Kitty handbag and boots!)

images-84

images-81

Unknown-42

Unknown-43

images-83

images-82

Unknown-41

HELLO KITTY x TOKIDOKI

images-62

 images-63

Tokidoki has long been a collaborator with Sanrio for their Hello Kitty x Tokidoki line. I have a few items from their vast collections but always need more. Including key chains, wallets, purses, figurines and more, the Japanese line has everything cute under the sun.

TARINA TARANTINO HELLO KITTY 

images-69
Need this bag!

Unknown-33 Unknown-31 images-71 images-70 images-68

I don’t really even have to introduce this Tarina Tarantino Hello Kitty line, because I’m sure you’re all well aware of its existence. Not withstanding, I still need every product listed here and more.

HELLO KITTY X LIBERTY

images-79 Unknown-36

a1 images-80

Liberty, a well-loved UK label, has collaborated with Hello Kitty on amazing stationery, handbags, accessories and homewares such as bedding. I still need to buy the Hello Kitty quilt set and cushions to adorn my room!

HELLO KITTY X VANS

Hello-Kitty-x-Vans-Group-Shot-1024x761
Hello Kitty vans are amazing. They come in adults sizes as well as matching baby sizes! Adorable

Unknown-37 Unknown-38

Need the ones on the left and the pink ones on the right (second pic)

and most of all… my favourite

HELLO KITTY X SAMANTHA THAVASA

What kawaii cuteness hasn’t Samantha Thavasa introduced in her cute as but way overpriced designer line? A long fan of the Japanese designer line, I have a few Hello Kitty x Samantha Thavasa handbags and one in her signature Samantha Thavasa logo print in my closet that I am obsessed with, but also haven’t used much because I don’t want to ruin them (weird, right?)

images-75
My baby right here.. just waiting for an awesome event to go to

a4Unknown-34

images-72

The Samantha Thavasa line has also got a wide range of limited edition Disney handbags, wallets and accessories too. Love!

While many more designers and brands have also gotten in on HK, I have decided to leave it here for now.

To cute-ify your wardrobe, check out the Hello Kitty fashion finds below, you cute thing you.

HELLO KITTY OVERLOAD

Tokyo fashion
yesstyle.com

Nyx blush
nastygal.com

Do you like or hate Hello Kitty?

Do you own any Hello Kitty clothes/jewellery or accessories?

Do you  think its way overpriced and has gotten out of hand?

Leave your thoughts on the infamous cat below.

Leave a Reply

